Independent Report

Independent Report

WIVB-TV – Buffalo, NY (Local 25)

Talks began for a successor agreement on February 23-24. Nexstar President Tim Busch is presiding over negotiations. The current contract expires on March 26, 2017. The FCC recently approved the sale of Media General to Nexstar Media Group for $4.6 billion. It’s the second ownership change in three years: Media General bought WIVB and WNLO from LIN Media in 2014. NEXSTAR is now the second-largest television broadcaster in the country, with 171 stations in 100 markets.

WTNH-TV – New Haven, CT (Local 14)

Negotiations for a successor agreement for the 12 Producers and Directors continued under the auspices of a federal mediator. The previous contract expired on January 31. The Technicians contract, which expires shortly, was included in the latest round of talks in February. According to NABET-CWA Staff Representative Lou Fallot, it is expected that Nexstar President Tim Busch will take over negotiations for the Company. The bargaining committee includes Local 14 President Joe D’Addese, Secretary-Treasurer Jim Bagley, and Fallot.

WTIC-TV – Hartford, CT (Local 17)

Ongoing talks have led to breakthroughs on seniority, severance, jurisdiction, discharge/discipline grievance and arbitration, according to NABET-CWA Staff Representative Bill Murray, who is part of the bargaining committee. The talks, which began a couple of years ago, will move to economics next. Murray is hopeful that they’ll reach a deal soon.

WDIV-TV – Detroit, MI (Local 43)

The two sides bargained for four days in January, without resolution on a contract for 30 Technical Directors, Master Control, Maintenance, Editing and Receive Operations workers. There are a number of open issues regarding jurisdiction, seniority, dues check-off, right-to-work, and management rights. The parties are attempting to schedule additional bargaining dates. The bargaining committee includes Local 43 President Dorethea Brown-Maxey, Jack Bellomo, Madalyn Lee, Paul Muczynski, Mark Baur, and James Wegehaupt.

WJLA-TV – Washington, D.C. (Local 31)

A federal mediator presided over another round of bargaining in late January for the unit of 55 Photographers, Editors, Master Control and Studio Technicians. Very little progress was made and the next round of talks is scheduled for late March. Mobilization has begun at the station and members have been sending emails to Human Resources Vice President Don Thompson, voicing their concern and objections to the company’s proposals. In the meantime, station owner Sinclair Broadcasting announced the layoff of approximately 20 employees, including two people in the bargaining unit. The Local has filed grievances over the manner in which the layoffs were handled. The bargaining committee includes Local 31 President Rich McDermott, Alton Morris, Rich Guastadisegni, and NABET-CWA Staff Representative Lou Fallot.

WJRT-TV – Flint, MI (Local 46)

The Company finalized its master control relocation on January 7, which impacted four employees. On March 9, the two sides will begin negotiations on a successor agreement for the 25-member unit of Maintenance, Studio Production, and Graphics employees.

KTCA-TV – Minneapolis, MN (Local 411)

Contract talks for the 40-member unit of Studio and Field Production and Videographers were held in January and February with little progress. The employer insists on assigning non-unit web/digital employees to perform field work for broadcasting, and has taken the position that SLR cameras, which record HD video, are not under the Union’s jurisdiction. According to NABET-CWA Staff Representative Eric Seggi, members have been using these cameras for years. The bargaining committee includes Local 411 President Joe Kaczynski, Mike Phillips, Terry Grey, Clayton Henderson and Seggi.

KTTV-TV – Burbank, CA (Local 53)

The KTTV/KCOP Engineering Negotiations Committee ignited its mobilization after recent talks failed to yield progress. Over the course of two days – Nov. 19 and Dec. 3 – members picketed at the station’s advertisers, including Living Spaces, Monrovia, Toyota of Pasadena, and Norm Reeves Honda in West Covina, Penske Toyota in West Covina on Nov. 19; and Keyes Toyota in Van Nuys, Galpin Honda in San Fernando and Living Spaces in Panorama City on Dec. 3. The parties last met with the Company for two days in September 2016. This was the first meeting between the Company and the newly elected bargaining committee. At that time, the Company refused to consider the Committee’s proposals, telling them that it would not change its previous positions. The bargaining committee includes Keith Hendriks (Chair), Brian Wallace, David Arvizu and Larry Farmer.